top of page
Search
Shahriar Shaik

MY ECO-TRAVEL

Md. Imroz Shahriar Shaik

Ambassador, Bangladesh

As my one of the hobby is travelling, I try to carry out an eco-friendly travelling.

At the outset of my tour, I do a little research to learn about my destination’s cultural traditions. Because it is important to speak and behave properly as well as honor the customs. I try to learn at least a few important words, such as, “Thank you”, “Please”, “My name is”, “How are you?”, if the language of my destination is different.

If I myself is driving to the destination, I prefer to use an electric car, as it is eco-friendly. If not found I try to use a hybrid one as it buses less fuel and less carbon-emission.

On choosing hotels to stay on, I ask if the hotel has a recycling program. I ask about their sustainability initiatives, as example, rainwater harvesting, wind turbines, solar power, low-flow toilets and energy efficient lighting. I try to find out what percentages of the hotel resources are local. Because services that utilize the indigenous resources tend to be more sustainable, as the investment is done on local economy. If these are not present, I leave a comment or suggestion for the hotel authority to check out.

I always use refillable water bottles that can be refilled over and over again. I try to take showers, not baths. Because showers just use 10-25 gallons of water whereas a bath takes around 70 gallons of water. And I try to take the shower shorter that is turning the water off while I leather up, shampoo, shave or brush my teeth.

While leaving, I always ensure that all electric appliances have been switched off. I try to walk, bike or use public transportations mostly which cuts down the gas usage.

Generally, I try to stick to the marked hiking trails to avoid harming native flora and fauna. Once we made a friendly competition to collect the unsightly wastes or pick up the trashes.

Actually, I try to immerse myself in the local culture being a participant not just an observer. Half the fun of travelling is getting opportunities to step outside the comfort zone and try different foods, listen to different music and explore different culture. That’s how my eco travel goes on…..

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commenti


bottom of page