top of page
Search
MADHAV MANOJ VACHALI

WASTE SEGREGATION

Updated: Aug 4, 2019

Waste segregation is the process of dividing waste into two parts: Dry waste and Wet waste. Dry waste is the waste which is non – biodegradable and can be recycled eg. paper, aluminum cans, plastic items, batteries and other metal items. Wet waste is the waste which is biodegradable and can be composted eg. kitchen waste like stale food, vegetable and fruit peels, used tea powder, eggshells etc.

In my home we usually have two covers/bins for waste segregation – one for dry waste and one for wet waste. In the dry waste cover we put paper, plastic, aluminum foils, glass pieces, chocolate wraps, metal pieces, plastic items, tetra packs and batteries. We give all these items for recycling. Out of which paper and aluminum cans I keep aside for contributing it to EEG [Emirates Environment Group]. This year I collected 350kg of paper from my home and my neighbourhood and 30kg of aluminum cans from the nearby premises and I contributed it to the project REFOREST, REPEAT, RECYCLE by EEG to combat desertification and I became eligible to plant 2 trees under my name in UAE. I also collect wet waste and give it to the nearby plant nursery so they can use it as compost for organic farming.

So by waste segregation we can decrease the amount of waste being dumped into the landfills. Thereby we can serve our mother Earth by preventing SOIL, WATER and AIR POLLUTION.

By Madhav Manoj Vachali

SFE. Ambassador #wastesegregation

This is my E waste project.


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page