top of page
Search
Shradhdha Kannappan

WASTE-SEGREGATION


Waste segregation includes two steps -collecting and sorting. First, dry and wet waste should be collected and sorted. I regularly collect Dry waste such as plastic bottles, paper and contribute to the recycling centers. From the last six years I have been contributing dry waste to recycling centers and to my school as well.

Wet waste also includes food waste. There is a pit near my building where I go and keep food waste which is eaten by stray cats and birds. Vegetable and fruit peels are used to make organic manure. I collect peels of fruits and vegetables from my home and keep it in a bottle filled with water. I will keep it aside for 5 to 6 days. After 6 days the peels decay and mix with the water. This acts as a very good organic manure for plants. I use this for my balcony plants. “Rethink, Reduce,Recover, Reuse, Recycle” and make the planet a better place to live...

Shradhdha Kannappan

Students For The Earth Ambassador

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page