top of page
Search
ShreyasKrishnaPS

Waste Segregation

Hello everyone!


Waste segregation is a waste management process where dry and wet waste are segregated. In my house we segregate paper waste, plastic waste, wet kitchen waste, and general waste daily. I am a member of Emirates Environmental Group(EEG), UAE. I collect paper and plastic waste and send it to EEG for recycling. Thus me and my family are doing our bit in reducing the amount of waste that gets dumped in the landfill.



 

Experience 1:

I would like to mention that this task has motivated me to start organic composting at home. I have tried composting kitchen waste. Till date I have tried composting in two pots. I am extremely happy and overwhelmed that the first pot is almost ready and will be ready for use within a week!! Looking forward for the day when I use it for the plants in my balcony and the plants bloom colorfully. May be I can try growing some veggies too!! Thanks to SFE.


 

Experience 2:

Collection of waste has made me make few DIY items out of waste.



 

Experience 3:

Over the years, in my house, practicing waste segregation has reduced the amount of our daily waste. It has reduced the amount of plastic that we bring in home. Plastic items have been replaced with alternatives like reusable bags to get groceries, reusable water bottles, mason jars and glass wares for storage in kitchen, stainless steel cups, plates, spoons and forks


We are now keeping e-waste aside.

Collecting ewaste(CD, printer toners,CD...)


Shreyas Krishna P.S

SFE Ambassador.


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page